Saturday, July 9, 2011

2011 Allen & Ginter is rolling out........

As of Saturday morning, thanks to the warning alarm sounded by Stale Gum, it looks as though ambitious collectors can now get their hands on 2011 Topps Allen & Ginter cards via eBay. There are already some interesting cards to be discovered including full bleed photos. My personal favorite so far is the Amityville House mini from the
'Univited Guests' mini insert set.

In an e-mail release from Topps this past Thursday they provided a listing of the non-sport autographs available in A&G this year. The one that stands out to me is the inclusion of WWE's Shawn Michaels. I may have to actually chase that one in order to build my 'Montreal Screw-job' Collection.

My choice for autograph card most likely to be made fun of RIDICULOUSLY is Matt Guy - The King of Cornhole. I am also happy to see a 'Travel Channel' personality make the cut, but it is bittersweet that it was not the one I was hoping for. C'mon Topps, maybe in 2012 you can give Adam Richman from 'Man vs. Food' the enshrinement he deserves.


With 2011 Allen & Ginter set to release next week, collectors are anticipating one of the most intriguing non-baseball autograph checklists the hobby has ever seen. From the greatest pound-for-pound fighter ever Manny Pacquiao and World Cup star Hope Solo to Annika Sorenstam, Cheryl Burke and John McEnroe, this year’s Allen & Ginter packs a powerful punch.

Following is a list of this year’s non-baseball autographs in Allen & Ginter.

Aimee Mullins - Paralympic Champion / World Record Holder

Ana Julaton - Women's Boxing Champion

Annika Sorenstam - Women's Golf Champion

Cheryl Burke - 2-Time Champion, Dancing with the Stars

Chrissie Wellington - Champion Triathlete and Iron Man World Record Holder

Chuck Woolery - Game Show Host

Daniel Boulud - Award-Winning French Chef

Diana Taurasi - Champion Women's Basketball Guard/Forward

Dick Vitale - Basketball Broadcaster

Evan Lysacek - Winter Games Men's Figure Skating Gold Medalist

Geno Auriemma - Champion Women's College Basketball Coach

Guy Fieri - Food Network TV Star & Host of Minute to Win It

Heather Mitts - Champion Women's Soccer Defender

Hope Solo - Champion Women's Soccer Goalkeeper

Jim Nantz - Sports Broadcaster

Jo Frost - Host of Supernanny

John McEnroe - Men's Tennis Champion

Kristi Yamaguchi - Winter Games Figure Skating Gold Medalist

Kyle Petty - NASCAR Driver

Lou Holtz - Champion College Football Coach & Broadcaster

Manny Pacquiao - World Champion Boxer

Marc Forgione - Restauranteur & Winner of The Next Iron Chef

Micky Ward - Champion Boxer & Subject of The Fighter

Nancy Lopez - Women's Golf Champion

Peter Gammons - Award-Winning Baseball Writer & Broadcaster

Picabo Street - Winter Games Alpine Skiing Gold Medalist

Rudy Ruettiger - College Football Player & Inspirational Speaker

Sanya Richards - Summer Games Track & Field Gold Medalist

Stan Lee - Founder of Marvel Comics

Sue Bird - Champion Women's Basketball Guard

Tim Howard - Champion Men's Soccer Goalkeeper

Timothy Shieff - Freerunning & Parkour Champion

Eric Jackson = Freestyle Kayaking Champion

Jake LaMotta - Champion Boxer & Subject of Raging Bull

Wee Man - World's Smallest Stunt Man

Mat Hoffman - Champion of BMX Biking and Extreme Sports

Matt Guy - 2011 ACO World Championships "King of Cornhole" Tournament Winner

Dirk Hayhurst - Author of The Bullpen Gospels

Al Gore & Keith Olbermann

Ron Turcotte - Champion Race Horse Jockey

Larry Holmes - Champion Boxer

Rafer Johnson - Champion Decathlete

Shawn Michaels - Professional Wrestler

Angelo Dundee - Boxing Trainer and Cornerman


No comments:

Post a Comment